I’m getting the vibes that “skankier” is better?: A Halloween costume revolution

Halloween is the most stressful holiday of the year. Not only do I have to worry about repeating past costumes that I or my friends have done, but I have to actually put in effort to have a great, original, clever and funny idea behind my costume. While I do find it stressful, it is the most fun holiday of the year. My best costume to date was when I dressed up as a male lumberjack, and I eerily resembled my father. Creepy moment.

But besides that point, I noticed that night that many of the Halloween costumes for ladies are getting shorter and indeed a little more revealing. There have been all too many times where I’ve heard girls say “Halloween is the only day I can get away with being a slut,” …is this really the image ladies want to give off? Halloween or not?

The “skankier” the better is the vibe I’m getting while searching for Halloween costume ideas online. “WELL WHAT IF I WANT TO BE A CONSERVATIVE SNOW WHITE? IS THAT OKAY WIT CHU?”

These are just some of the costumes I found while looking through Google images of “Halloween costumes for girls”

images-1images6af4c5d0c03aa2fc5e90739983bed9d3Screen-Shot-2013-08-09-at-9.57.26-PM

images-2
http://www.pinterest.com

If women dressed up like this on Halloween in Winnipeg, I would think they were ladies of the evening! What?! Speaking of which I came across a hilarious article called “Spooky to Skanky” by Dana Carroll, and wanted to share this excerpt,

It’s a cold fall evening in downtown Buffalo, and a girl dressed in a painted-on black leather dress passes you on the street. You do a double take, turning around to get a better look at her. Thigh-high leather boots, a skirt that barely covers her ass, and a complete view of her naked back draw cause you to assume she’s a hooker, but two other girls in similar getups accompany her. One is clad in white with a stethoscope dangling over bare breasts, and the other in a plaid mini skirt with a white button down shirt that’s tied up to her ribs. They’re not streetwalkers, but University at Buffalo students looking for an exciting Halloween. 

You can check out the whole article at: <http://www.subboard.com/generation/articles/116225231462087.asp&gt;

Another great article I found titled “A brief history of sexy Halloween costumes,” by Cristen Conger discusses that the “slutty” Halloween revolution was invented in 1973 in New York City. Huh, how about that? We have NYC to blame for this, but are we surprised? You can give this a read at <http://www.huffingtonpost.com/cristen-conger/a-brief-history-of-sexy-halloween-costumes_b_4158119.html&gt;

ibuevrEhwYWqwi

Well guys, that concludes yet another rant of the week. Hope you all enjoyed my post about Halloween costumes. This year I plan on being one of the guys from “Duck Dynasty,” and why the hell not? (YOLO) Not only will this costume be cheap, but I won’t have to wear makeup or heels, and I’ll be comfortable for the rest of the night. So really, who is winning here? I rest my case

Wishing you all a wonderful and safe Halloween!

Leave a comment